Biomaterialbank

CRC 1118 Biorepository

Projekt S02

As a core unit of the CRC 1118, the biorepository ensures the archiving of the limited diabetes-associated samples in consistently high quality and guarantees a project-specific utilization of the samples.

Tissue samples

are archived and processed at the CRC 1118 Tissue Bank, which is an intrinsic element of the tissue bank of the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT).

The tissue bank of the NCT has implemented a structured quality management system according to DIN EN ISO / IEC 17020 and has been accredited to this standard since 2009. To answer scientific questions, the CRC 1118 Tissue Bank compiles project-specific collectives, mainly consisting of human kidney and nerve material. The tissue is pathologically-anatomically diagnosed by a specialist in pathology, so that the researchers are informed about disease-related morphological changes in the tissues.

The technology and method platform of the Tissue Bank enables standardized derivatization (especially preparation of sections) and extraction (mainly nucleic acids) from human biomaterials. Immunohistochemical stainings (IHCs) and special stainings, e.g. Trichrome staining and PAS-staining, can be performed. To facilitate a computer-based evaluation, stained derivatives can be scanned and digitalized by means of virtual microscopy (VM) using the Hamamatsu nanozoomer.

Diabetes-specific human tissue microarrays (TMAs) have been designed especially for the CRC, allowing a high-throughput examination of FFPE tissue. Currently, TMAs with diabetic kidneys and nerves are available.

In addition to the human TMAs, several TMAs from various experimental diabetes models such asSTZ-induced mice, db/db mice and Ins2Akita mice have been created in collaboration with A04 and C03. The TMAs can be used by all members of the CRC.




Liquid samples

are processed, stored and managed at the Department of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Clinical Chemistry.

Whole blood, white and red blood cells, serum, plasma and urine are collected from diabetics, prediabetics and healthy controls and stored at -80 °C.

Watch the following video for a better insight into the work of the CRC 1118 Tissue Bank: (bottom of this site)

 

Request forms for tissue samples or services

Note the desired tissue samples or services of the technology platform on the request form. Multiple selections are possible.

Complete the request form on a computer, sign it and send it to Dr. Nadine Volk (contact details on the right).

Please add a short project description to your request form. If you have questions about tissue availability and processing, we will be pleased to advise you personally. Currently, there is no request form for the liquid samples of the CRC 1118 Liquidbank. If you are interested in this material, please contact us directly.

Please note that the diabetes-associated biomaterials are primarily available to members of the CRC 1118. However, in cooperation, the biomaterial can be provided to external research projects. 

 

 

Nadine Volk
Pathologisches Institut
Biobank SFB 1118
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 224
69120 Heidelberg

phone.: +49 6221 56-34398
Fax: +49 6221 56-5879
E-Mail

Prof. Dr. med. Esther Herpel
Pathologisches Institut
Biobank SFB 1118
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 224
69120 Heidelberg

SFB 1118 Biomaterialbank

Projekt S02

Als zentrale Stelle sichert die SFB 1118 Biomaterialbank die limitierten Diabetes-assoziierten Proben in konstant hoher Qualität und gewährleistet deren ökonomische und projektspezifische Verwendung.

Gewebeproben

werden an der SFB 1118 Gewebebank, die intrinsischer Bestandteil der Gewebebank des Nationalen Centrums für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT)ist, archiviert und prozessiert.

Die Gewebebank des NCT hat ein strukturiertes Qualitätsmanagementsystem nach DIN EN ISO/IEC 17020 implementiert und ist seit 2009 nach dieser Norm akkreditiert. Für die Beantwortung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen, stellt die SFB 1118 Gewebebank Projekt-spezifische Kollektive, insbesondere von Nierengewebe und Nerven, zusammen. Das Gewebe wird durch einen Facharzt für Pathologie pathologisch-anatomisch befundet, so dass die Forscher über krankheitsbedingte morphologische Veränderungen der Gewebe informiert werden.

Die Technologie- und Methodenplattform der Gewebebank ermöglicht eine standardisierte Derivateerstellung (v.a. Anfertigung von Schnittpräparaten) und Extraktion (v.a. Nukleinsäuren) aus humanen Biomaterialien. Neben immunhistologischen Färbungen (IHC) werden auch Spezialfärbungen, wie z.B. Trichromfärbungen und PAS-Färbungen durchgeführt. Um eine erleichterte, computerbasierte Auswertung zu ermöglichen, können gefärbte Derivate mittels virtueller Mikroskopie (VM) mit dem Hamamatsu Nanozoomer gescannt und digitalisiert werden.

Speziell für den SFB wurden Diabetes-spezifische humane Tissue-Micro-Arrays (TMAs) erstellt, welche eine kontrollierte Untersuchung von FFPE Gewebe im Hochdurchsatzverfahren ermöglichen.

Bisher sind TMAs diabetischer Nieren und Nerven vorhanden. Zusätzlich zu humanen TMAs wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit A04 und C03 mehrere TMAs von verschiedenen experimentellen Diabetes-Modellen u.a. von STZ-induzierten Mäusen, db/db Mäusen und Ins2Akita Mäusen erstellt. Die TMAs können von allen Mitgliedern des SFBs genutzt werden.


 

Flüssige Biomaterialien

werden in der Klinik für Endokrinologie, Stoffwechsel und klinische Chemie bearbeitet, gelagert und verwaltet. Es werden Vollblut, weiße und rote Blutzellen, Serum, Plasma sowie Urin von Diabetikern, Prädiabetikern und gesunden Kontrollen gesammelt und bei -80°C gelagert.

Einen Einblick in die Arbeit der SFB 1118 Gewebebank erhalten Sie in unserem Video.

(unten auf dieser Seite)

Anforderungsunterlagen für Gewebeproben bzw. Dienstleistungen

Notieren Sie auf dem Antragsformular die gewünschten Gewebeproben bzw. Leistungen der Technologieplattform. Eine Mehrfachauswahl ist dabei möglich.

Bitte füllen Sie das Antragsformular am PC aus und schicken es unterschrieben an Frau Dr. Nadine Volk zurück (Kontaktdaten siehe rechts). Dem Antrag ist eine kurze Projektbeschreibung beizufügen. Bei Fragen bezüglich der Gewebeverfügbarkeit und -prozessierung beraten wir Sie gerne persönlich.

Für die Nutzung von Flüssigproben der SFB 1118 Liquidbank gibt es momentan kein Antragsformular. Bitte nehmen Sie bei Interesse an diesem Material direkt Kontakt mit uns auf.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Diabetes-assoziierte Biomaterialien primär den Mitgliedern des SFB 1118 zur Verfügung stehen. Externen Forschungsprojekten kann Biomaterial in Kooperation bereitgestellt werden. Bei Interesse dürfen Sie uns gerne kontaktieren.

Nadine Volk
Pathologisches Institut
Biobank SFB 1118
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 224
69120 Heidelberg

tel.: +49 6221 56-34398
Fax: +49 6221 56-5879

E-Mail

Prof. Dr. med. Esther Herpel
Pathologisches Institut
Biobank SFB 1118
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 224
69120 Heidelberg